Month: June 2008

  • Facing Death and Depression


    To all my friends- old, recent, and (if there are any) new:

    We found out months ago that my Wife’s Dad has a malignant (cancerous) tumour growing on the side of his stomach, attached to his pancreas. He went through five and a half weeks of chemo and radiation therapy. They would then go in with surgery to remove his stomach, the tumour, and some of his pancreas. With it decreased in size, their hope was this would remove all of the cancer and solve the problem. Without the cancer inside his pacreas or bowels, there is still a chance of them removing the source of the problem. PRior to the surgery they were putting it off more, because he was loosing a lot of weight- they had to put him in the hospital with a feeding tube to try to get him to the proper weight before surgery.

    We found out today, without us even knowing, they went in to do surgery very suddenly. They were going to do the whole shabang- but instead, they only put in a permanent feeding tube.

    They discovered that, like someone had sprinkled it with a salt shaker, there was cancer sprinkled throughout his bowls.

    Medically speaking- as my Mom and Dad gave testimony to (Doctor and nurse)… he is dying of cancer. It is not a question of “if”, but “when” now. He could (and hopefully will) have years- but with this situation, it is far more likely he will have less since he is already sickly and weak (and loosing weight). Of course, I believe that while no human healer can solve this now- there is the *great physician* who can heal any sickness, and only he can do something now. I ask your prayer support in his situation: and also for my Wife.

    I fear that in many ways, the most important person in her life really is her Father- her whole life revolved around him until I showed up, and in many ways always will. She gave up many important things to her in order to live with him growing up, apart from her Mom and sister. My Wife was having a difficult time before her father ever became ill- this will not be an easy ride for her, and my heart aches deeply for her and her whole family.

    Thank you for taking the time to listen- and in advance for any thoughts or notes you have, and especially any prayers. I feel strengthened by God at this time, and yesterday afternoon (before finding out any of the more recent new) had rededicated myself to Him and his path for me and our family. I really believe that our future is in his hands. I was given wise words by a movie I saw yesterday- odd that such a thing would be inspiration for my rededication. I just told these to a friend on Xanga in a message and share them with you now-

     

    The future is a mystery. The past is history. But now is a gift: that is why they call it “present”.

    Sincerely,
    Patrick