April 11, 2009

  • Memorial Service

    We just had the Memorial (funeral) service for Kat’s father, Butch, this afternoon: the day before Easter. I want to thank you for your concern, and prayers: especially those of you who responded, and especially those who asked how they could be involved, help, or just offered friendship. Folks like my dear old friend and longtime roomy Kent- you guys mean a lot to me, and it’s nice to know you are still around. I really need some friends right now, just with all that is going on- and this is just “icing on the cake” so to speak. It is difficult for me to think of Butch as being gone. I know this may sound trite, but it is easy to imagine I will turn a corner in the house and see him there… or see him out in the barn, in his workshop, making mead, crafting something, or building more of his trainset. He was well, hardy, and energetic with youth for so long- his sickness so relatively brief and yet devestating- it is sometimes hard to realise it has really happened. My Wife cared so very deeply for her father. Oddly enough, this circumstance has bonded me with her Mom in a way nothing else could have- being able to keep her involved, updated, and even support her. I know she feels helpless- being divoriced from their Dad, she cannot really be here. And in some ways, she cannot get her own closure, either.

    Appreciating your prayers, and your support- and, most of all, any friendship:
    Patrick

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *