April 13, 2009

  • A new normal

     

    We just walked in the door to our home half an hour ago, after a slightly long, monotonous two hundred mile plus drive from North Carolina to our home here in South Carolina. My Wife began bringing things in while I replugged my computer and electronic equipment (ie- cable, internet, router, Vonage phone system, etc) and got everything running. I just finished the final touch when she said “Have you ever felt almost physically pained doing something?” I responded somewhat defensively, as normally saying anything like that would imply that she was burdened by cleaning out the car by herself- while meanwhile, I was doing the very thing she asked me to do when we entered the door (which was “Can you get the internet working?”). She started to tear up, and I realised my error about the same time she closed off- but I managed to restart the conversation. It was then she mentioned the pain of bringing in a box of books… of her Dads, and other things we brought back with us.

    I went out and found the box of fantasy books I had taken that were his. That was the one hobby, the one interest, he and I shared – and the one thing that allowed me to understand him more and feel something of a bond with him. Many of the books that first started my journey into fantasy and science fiction, were books he had on his shelves. When we were there, Kat’s stepmother Janell pointed out his shelf of books (I think he had already sent some on in the past with Kat, after he had gotten sick, so these were “his favourites” and his best). It was a little painful for me, too, accepting back from her my own books. That is, my favourite series of them all- my favourite author- is Robert Jordan, and his Wheel of Time series. Ironically enough, just last Fall, Robert Jordan himself died. Yet another great man, lost to a long-term illness. He, oddly enough, also had a collection of staffs and favourite hats, as well as some weaponry… just like Butch. But I disgress.

    Katrina felt he would like the Wheel of Time, when I let her borrow my books. So, rather than returning them, she gave my whole Wheel of Time paperback series to her Dad. Instead of giving me my old books back, she bought brand new paperbacks for me. Well, I did not complain too much about that, in the end. Of course, once married and living together, she read and re-read my WoT books so much that they are now falling apart and ragged anyway. So… to receive back my own books, I began to realise that I would much rather not get them back. I would rather he were here, to keep them. I also looked over the shelf, realising if I did not take things there now, she could end up giving them away to someone who would not appreciate them, or to a book store, or just selling them. So I found several authors I knew were of high quality but had never read, and being on this shelf were clearly among his favourite few. It was a little like he was recommending them, and so I took him up upon it.

    In a similar vein, Katrina and I received back two walking staffs we had given him. One was her gift: a walking stick from Ireland, when she spent a semester in Northern Ireland. The other was our gift: from our honeymoon in Walt Disney World, and our visit to the Wild Kingdom or such. While in a shop in the ‘African village’- a direct and exact replica of a real one that exists in Africa even now- we bought an ebony wood staff, elegantly carved from some of the hardest wood in the world with a uniquely round handle supported on the back of an elephant, which was on top of two carved goats. It is done in such a way that were the wood anything less: like, say, pine or even oak, the handle would likely break off. But it is firm and solid, and enough to hold a man’s full weight, with ebony wood.

    We received these back. And then… Kat brought back two hats, one in particular that I remember her father wearing often on travelling. An almost indiana-jones looking hat with bird feathers all around the inside circle. I walked inside with the hat, and one of his blankets… and I almost regretted it, for when she lookd over and saw the two items… she let out a soft squeel of a sob, and began to cry. Katrina- my Wife, who rarely cries openly. Who even now, says “I’m fine” and throughout much of her trip managed of thin but firm facade of stability… crying like this. It is a real grief I knew was there, but for her to let it out in this way- it shows it is so strong even she cannot suppress it, and that is a powerful and even frightening thing indeed. I hope that she lets it out, and does not hold it back so much. Holding herself to a high standard that somehow it is weak for her to grieve as she is. That she should expect to go back to the “old normal” at all is a fallacy: a “new normal” may develop, but even then it may take a year or more. And the “new normal” exists with the healed, but present, scars of his death and absence.


    I appreciate your prayers for us, my friends, brothers, and sisters in Christ.


    -Patrick

Comments (5)

  • Hello Patrick,
    You made your site simple yet elegant. I see that you have a wide variety of interests and observations here!
    Now is a good time to learn about the true God, Jehovah, and find out what His plans are for us. 44 “And in the days of those kings the God of heaven will set up a kingdom that shall never be destroyed, nor shall the kingdom be left to another people. It shall break in pieces all these kingdoms and bring them to an end, and it shall stand forever.” (Daniel 2:44) (ESV)

  • APerfectEnding77 –

    For all reading this, be aware that it is very likely the beliefs of APerfectEnding77, if you go to his site, are not that of orthodox Christianity and are, in fact, very like (if not the same) that of the NON-Christian cult, or a deviation from orthodox Christianity, Jehova’s Witness.  I have no hard feelings at all towards them or their members, but I do bear anger towards the Enemy, the ‘accuser of saints’, who uses a cult so similar to Christianity to prey upon those who might be potentially open to God’s voice and deceive them- to offer a similar, yet wrong path.   For many and broad are the paths that lead to destruction, but narrow is the one that leads to salvation in Jesus Christ our Lord.  If you choose to visit his site from mine, be aware a few critical things: 1) Jehovas Witness deny the true trinity and its existance in the scriptures, 2) they attack the validity of the Biblical cannon (that is, the books that the spirit lead to be chosen as the God-inspired scriptures we acknowledge today), 3) they focus on Jehova and its importance as being God’s name.  When you hear the name Jehova used repeatedly, perk your ears up- you may be talking to a Jehova’s Witness.

    Regardless, if you are sure in your beliefs, it’s always fun and informative to talk to one- but if you are unsure, or greiving… as I might have appeared to be by my post, ironically… make sure you first take the time to look at both sides, and consult a book that takes apart the core beliefs of Jehova’s Witness in comparison to conservative Christianity then take that delayed chat with one and see what answers they have to the new questions you have.  Chances are, they might not want to talk to you again- and instead pick out someone less sure in their faith.

    Interesting insights- I certainly do think that there is symbolism in Revelation about the false religion that will come up.  I believe in the last couple centuries we have seen two major false religions that prey on those who might be open to Christian beliefs, who try to look like “Christianity” but, in truth, are completely seperate cults:  the Mormon religion and the Jehova’s Witness religion, for example.  Both very different faiths, because they do not rely on the complete accuracy and authority of the Biblical cannon.  The Jehova’s Witness, for example, even have a book- one they often guard and it is difficult for those outside to get ahold of- called, I believe, Reasoning from the Scriptures (I might be wrong on exact title) which is designed specifically with arguments to divert Christians of varrying beliefs, to attack weak points and avoid focus on Jehova’s Witnesses’ weak points.  A friend of mine, and a professor, used to delight when Jehova’s Witness’ would come to his door- welcome them in, sit down and talk.  He’d even pull out his own copy of their book if they had theirs- and had an answer for every one of their attacks on the evangelical and conservative Christianity he believed.  After that, no more Jehova’s Witness came to his house- they’d skip it and avoid him, instead going to other houses around him.

    I’m familiar with the fact that Jehova’s Witness’ stress the importance of God’s name being “Jehova” and nothing else (which, by the way, is actually a name derrived from ignorance- the name of God was written down one way but pronounced another by Hebrew’s, but my Wife has more facts about that particular issue, having studied it thoroughly herself).  That is why I am inclined to suspect that while you never -say- you are Jehova’s Witness, you could be.  I wonder why that happens so often- that people of the Jehovas Witness faith will post, or come to a door, and pose as Christians (which, while they may infact consider themselves that, they know that they are different than what the common model of orthodox Christianity is- and know by saying this, they are in essence deceiving some people) rather than simply saying that they are of the Jehova’s Witness ‘church’?  While I and most evangelical Christians will come out and say exactly what we are: we are Christians who Jesus is the only way to heaven, that he came in the flesh, died for our sins and went to hell for three days, then rose again.  That we believe in the trinity (something Jehova’s Witness do not believe in, but will try to get around until they get later into their arguments, when they will attack it): the father, the son, and the holy spirit as being both seperate and yet one whole Godhead.  That we believe in the integrity and the authority of the scriptures as according to the Biblical canon.  We don’t hide this, and we also do not ‘hold back unless asked’- we offer it outright if our beliefs come up.

    So I am curious- are you in fact connected to the Jehovas Witness church?  If so- why not put it where people can clearly see it?  Why hide or disguise?  If not – well, then, I would say that you sound very similar in the way you speak about it.

  • PS- I left one thing out.  Jehova’s Witness have a different belief of exactly who Jesus is. I believe that the mormons are the ones who believe that Jesus is a son of god, and that we all can be just like him too…  but Jehova’s Witness believe that Jesus was a good man, a prophet even I think, but not that he IS God.  Thus their refutation of the trinity.

  • Hi, Coroloro. Nice to meet you. I have seen photos of Ireland and would love to travel there one day.

  • I am actually pleased to read this blog posts which carries tons of valuable facts, thanks for providing
    these kinds of information.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *