September 29, 2006

  • Croc Hunter- his silent Wife now speaks


    Terri Irwin's First Interview

    You won't see it on TV or in the news. You might hear about it, or read something about it. But watch it or listen to it? Never- at least, not anytime forseeable. Why? Because apparently the interview was broadcast exclusively to Australlian residents ONLY, and is being agressively kept from being released anywhere else.

    So, for those who have the heart- the time- and the willingness to cry a little, I now provide for you the chance to see this interview through some select netcasts I have hunted down. You have several options- I strongly encourage you to take the time to at least listen to the audio one. It is... powerful. I cried quite a lot hearing it.

    NOTE: It has been made clear these below links MAY NOT be available for very long since, as I said, Australlia and many powerful people are agressively trying to stop this from spreading. If you don't watch it now- be prepared to possibly never do so.

    Terri Irwin three part video segments- three full video excerpts from the whole interview. It's high quality and full video, and very powerful.

    Terri Irwin audio interview (with pictures to match)- This is the entire six minute interview you only see clips of above, however there is no video footage to match. I reccommend watching the clips first then watching this.

September 28, 2006

  • New

    I thought I would put a new post up. Why? Because I had a few younger xangans visitting and I thought it was a little odd to have them commenting on a post about sex in marriage. Heck, I put "caution" up there so they really weren't even supposed to read that post, much less comment on it. :P

    So, here, now everyone can comment freely.

    As a side note, I am searching desperately for my mic so I can start doing audio blogs too! I'm really excited. I've always had an interest in doing radio-type shows and I am really happy to get a way to put up audio blogs. I'll drive you nuts now with my chattering! Maybe when Conor gets older you can hear my son on my blogs too. :P

    -Patrick

September 26, 2006

  • Sex Within Marriage- what is right?

    Twisted Bible Interpretation


    [C - Caution, contains content and details related to views on specific sexual activities within a marriage context. This is a philosophical/theological post- but contains descriptive content]

    There are a variety of views out there about sex and its use. Something often overlooked, due to the uproar over sex before marriage or what is considered adultry and when is divorice allowed- is the matter of sex within a marriage relationship? Well, recently on the today show they had a man who was a pastor and now currently speaks in conservative churches around the country to married couples about their sex life. At first, I thought he had some thoughts that stretched the Bible- but upon hearing the details, I think I actually find his thinking Biblically sound as he elaborated.

    When asked what he felt was 'alright' for Christians to do within marriage, he said (paraphrased):
    'They can do anything they want as long as it does not hurt either themselves or others around them, both partners enjoy it, and it does not involve other people.' So, what he was saying is that- provided both the husband and wife are comfortable with it- a variety of subjects many Christians consider 'taboo' are alright including oral sex, anal sex, perhaps even S&M play so long as it doesn't cause hurt or break other Biblical laws. He even specifically stated that sex outdoors, for example, would be okay (just make sure it's not a place where you can be seen!). This includes mastrubation- IF it is with the other partner involved/in mind. He 'sold me' that he had sound theology when he responded to the question "What about pornography? Can a couple engage in viewing this together to enhance their sexual life?"

    His response was a clear NO. The reason he used on the show- probably because he was speaking to non-Christian viewers as well- focused on this fact, that the point is for the couple to have sex with each other and increase their sexual relationship. If they use pornography not only is this someone other than their spouse, but eventually they will over time (say, as an older couple) loose the ability to become aroused by their spouse.

    A perversion of this

    Well, I saw a site recently talking about this topic- however, they took things that I already felt were Biblically allowable but used proof texts that were completely out of context. As many of my professors have said before- if you use a verse to support a Biblical principle, make sure it clearly applies to that topic! Well, they went a little overboard- even trying to say the Bible encourages oral sex and swallowing. I almost wanted to punch them in the face when they took a wonderful Bible story where Jesus is speaking to the woman at the well, and when she asks for the water of life Jesus offers and he says "Go, call your husband, and come back" that he is telling her to have oral sex with him... you can guess what they are saying the "living water" is. That's not just wrong, that's plain disgusting. Not that the ACT of doing that is disgusting, but that they would twist Jesus' words and a powerful, theologically vital passage into something directly sexual.

    I propose the Bible does not say anything at all against these acts within a marriage- and if they fall under certain criteria they are even supportable- but there is also no clear Biblical text that supports them or encourages those specific acts either. To take scripture out of context is dangerous, even evil- it calls judgement upon the person doing this.

    Of course, unsurprisingly, these people go on to try to Biblically justify having a threesome "under certain conditions"- such as the third person not being married (ie- someone else's husband or wife, thus not adultry), etc. It gets pretty depressing how they manage to hit some things on- but other things they just go way off on. It's people like this that make believers scared of anything outside the typical "missionary sex" box.

    The site referred to is here, but please only view this if you are a mature reader and reading about further details would not bother you. I think it is important to be aware of how they use scripture, however, and to challenge yourself with these topics.

    The most important thing is obeying God's law and honouring God- and, while adhering to this, pleasing the other partner and thus each other. As time goes on, sometimes this takes some creativity and exploration. Married couples can be assured God gave us plenty of things to explore and enjoy without stepping into sinful areas- we must thus be sure we explore in the ways God intended, and not go outside of the intended 'box' by lusting after someone other than our partner, causing ourselves or our partner harm or pain, or committing adultry in ANY way (ie- anyone besides our one, individual married partner... be it direct, in thought, anything, the Bible makes clear, is too far). I think sometimes we are lured by these 'forbidden fruits' and forget just how much there is to do. The grass is always greener...

    -Patrick

September 25, 2006

  • Science Tidbit

    Lots of new discoveries on the horizon. I thought I would share a few things with you today.

    Crickets loose their song. More here about crickets in Hawaii. A parasitic fly attracted to male cricket's mating songs will lay eggs in the cricket- eventually hatching and killing it. The result? Over three generations, most of the crickets evolved with flat wings- that don't make the chirping! How do they mate, then? They group around the poor schmucks who still have curved "chiping" wings and get the ladies that way. This is micro-evolution at work (micro meaning evolution WITHIN a species).

    Ever thought of planting grass... on your roof? Well, it is now possible. The Today Show recently talked about America's obsession with the perfect lawn- well, now those crazy lawn fanatic can take it a step farther and onto their own roofs! Or, be creative, and put it on your FLOOR and give yourself a grass carpet livingroom!

    Watch a video and see how kind people are being to the lower species- a recent artist decided to enable a fishy to explore land in his own little robotic vehicle. Quite a unique thing- perhaps one day we'll visit people's homes and occasionally see a fish cruising around their house in their own mobile fish bowl? "Now now, Guppy, you know I hate it when you park your bowl infront of the door!"

    You'll never think of frisbees the same way again once you hear about the death frisbees the US air force has decided to implement. Ever have problems with pesky terrorists in Iraq trying to hide in hard to reach places? Fear no more- new death frisbees are robotic frisbees armed with heavy explosives that will seek out and destroy harmful pests in all those hard to reach places (sounds like a commercial for a new home product, doesn't it?). Suggestions for ways to combat this new form of deadly combat (and it IS deadly- the force in a spinning object alone is incredible) include utilizing current robotic dog technology. Some suggest genetic size experiments with dogs- imagine a giant collie chasing robotic frisbees through a battle field?

    Ever thought that the government might consider taxing you if you are too wasteful and generate too much trash? Not possible, right? WRONG. Now, you too can get a small coin-sized chip embedded in your state-issued trash bin that will identify you as the owner when the garbage truck weighs the trash you give them each week. The chip is being used in England now, but what government wouldn't jump at the chance to justify getting money back from wasteful people in the name of encouraging a less wasteful society? Think of it as similar to water conservation for the trashy of the world.

    [Edit: After checking my county-issued trash can today, I realised that they may have already implemented this here in Columbia, SC!!! Why? Because there is a quarter-sized, round "blip" on the lip of the trash can on the side that faces the garbage truck. On the outer area around the round indentation there are a series of numbers and markings. Also, the trucks now are designed to pick up the trash can- probably weighing it. This means that if you live around here in SC, your trash is probably being weighed and logged under your name and address in the county/state database!!! Very interesting to know, isn't it?]

    [Final edit: I have checked with the local solid waste org, and was assured that presently the only identification on the trash containers is a number that is used incase our trash cans are lost or mixed up. This number is attached only to the address- not to a name or any personal information. There are no other things- no ID tags, etc. nor do they presently weigh trash cans or keep track of that information. Let's hope they keep it this way and fight it if they do not!]

    And let's not forget the invention that will allow people to breath underwater without a tank! Artificial gills- they are real technology now, tank-less diving!

    Ever think about wanting a silk shirt for the summer-time... one that will also happen to protect you from sharp objects or stray bullets? You just might get your wish- the key to producing spider-silk (which is stronger than steel and can stretch up to 50 percent before breaking, four times stronger than the silk we currently use) in usable quantities has been found!

    Ever wonder how some insects walk on water? The secret has now been revealed- and it is the key to some incredible new inventions for our time, as well. Imagine one day being able to swim through water without it touching the special dive-suit you wear? This concept lead to a later discovery in how to use this technology for the purpose of getting oxygen from the water as well!

    And finally, as our finale, have you ever wondered what the hormones they feed our livestock might eventually do to them? Two headed cows, pigs with more than two eyes? Well, the chicken that laid your recent omlette eggs just might have four legs. She's a normal chicken- she just happens to have an extra pair of legs dangling behind her. Almost as fun as the faithful story of Mike the headless chicken. Listen to his theme song sometime!


September 19, 2006

  • It was suggested that I continue, as I once did in the past, to journal my more personal thoughts and feelings. I have never been, nor will be, successful in doing this privately. I ceased doing so on here because- well, let's be honest, it is one thing for people you don't know to read your personal thoughts. If they hate you for them, think you are silly, or disagree it will not impact your personal life unless you choose to allow that. However, when family, friends, and all other sorts of people regularly visit- for me, at least, that is more daunting. Other folks are the opposite, of course, and I understand that.

    So, with xanga's nifty "protected post" feature I am planning to share most of my personal posts on a very limitted basis. If there isn't really any interest at all I may give up on the idea entirely. However, if you are a friend of mine or even someone I have known on here and are interested (sorry, being a family member with the exception of my brother Jay's family pretty much makes you exempt. I've got to live with family the rest of my life, and if my penchant for wearing cute pink panties gets out to you... oops! Forget that. :P   LOL) just drop me a message on here (message option is to the left panel, and if you cannot figure it out just comment me :) ).


    Most of my thoughts are the sort of things a young Christian father and husband of 3-5 years might deal with, along with some unique perspectives being a stay-home Dad. I used to be a lot more open and detailed on here, but the fact is- now my life impacts not just one person, not just two people, but three people total (my Wife, my baby, and myself) so some more discretion is required.

    Thank you to everyone who visits. I'll still be posting as normal, so don't worry about that. I just might do a little more on the side now. :)

    -Patrick

September 16, 2006

  • Adjust your eyes like a computer monitor

    Rose-coloured glasses? I don't need any

    I received something in the mail- a simple green flier on solid green paper- I guess it would be grass green. I was reading it over in the gentle morning sunlight before my lawn. My lawn, of course, has red clay in it- to note that fact- and a lot of grass, surrounded by green trees and taller green brush.

    Well, I looked up... and suddenly I though the grass on the gravel driveway we have looked odd. I never knew our grass had a pink hue to it. How odd! Then I looked up, and the red clay stood out- while the grass around it seemed a little rosey in hue as well. I looked up at the sun- a little muted by clouds, and rosey too. I wondered if maybe the sun was doing something odd today. Everything looked more reddish- not bright red, but pinkish. Then I looked down at the paper and realised what might be going on. Somehow, by looking at the green paper for at least one minute then suddenly looking up, it was like I had adjusted the tint on a computer monitor. Except, instead it was my eyes.


    In about fifteen seconds or so, they went back to somewhat normal hue. Wow, that was strange. So as a test, I tried it again- I stared at the paper close to one minute, then looked out. Once more, rosey hue! How strange!

    Want to try it yourself? Well, get a STRONG green sheet of paper (not the light kind, but the construction type- really bright, deep green... forest green) and just look at it outside around a lot of green stuff. Then, look up- it's especially good if you have red clay or such around because it enhances the red. The 'green' around you won't stand out as much and so you'll see more red. What a strange but fun experiment!

September 15, 2006

  • Utawarerumono- The One Being Sung

    It is soooo frustrating to get into a really good anime and then be cut off. That is the one problem about loving a 'fansub' anime- Japanese animation that has not yet been liscenced in the US. When it gets liscensed, a lot of previous venues to get up-to-date versions of it cut off. In this series, they happened to choose the time to cut off "The One Being Sung" at a crucial plot moment.

    If it wasn't for the fact I already got my subtitles from yesy fansubs I would have gone insane. They fortunately have up to episode 22 of the series. And while your-mom is known as a 'fast sub' group that annoys many other groups, they are in the lead with up to episode 24 of the series. Of course, I do NOT recommend going to these sites to get Utawarerumono- they just happen to be the only place one can get it now at all. When it comes out in the United States, it will be called a new name- something like "Shadow Warrior Chronicles".

    This series is going to be an incredible explosion in the US, just like Naruto became and Bleach will become. It is just that sort of action-genre piece that catches on with the public at large and will probably be featured on Cartoon Network. I feel privileged to be able to take part in the action ahead of time: especially since it will probably be years before the US public catches up with where the series is now.

    -Patrick


  • It is a strange feeling to be looking at the date on my Outlook calendar, and upon seeing the fact it is later into the month I get that sudden twinge.

    It is later in the month- when is the next assignment due? What am I procrastinating on now?

    Yet now, I can instantly respond with: NOTHING! No school assignments, no procrastination. As for my job- beyond caring for Conor, my future lies in ministry. And Justin, my guide in that area, has said that right now my first priority and steps in ministry are in working on my relationship with Katrina which will be foundational through the rest of our lives (not to mention ministry).

  • Sex Offenders- Gender descrimination?

    "I committed a sex offense, but I am not a sex offender"

    If you heard that comment on television from the latest fellow caught on "To catch a predator"- what would you think? Actually, you hear it a lot- sometimes it is probably true (that is, this is not a person who usually would seek this sort of thing out: it might be one of those 'really bad mistakes' made only once and stoppable), many times not. Yet if you heard that, you like many others might be inclined to dismiss it. "Yeah, right."

    Yet this morning on the Today show, it was said- and the reporter seemed sympathetic. Why? Because it is a woman- who was 23 years old when it happened, is quite beautiful, and has some strong reasons why it was a strange time in her life. She admits guilt, says she is a sex offender and deserves jail time (even though she did not get it) but is NOT a "sex offender".

    "It was a mistake," 'but that is not who I am. I care for kids, I have always been a good teacher, and I have never treated them like that before'

    And it's probably taken well. She got off any prison time- but the reporter did mention: "If you were a man, there is no doubt you would have received prison time. How do you feel about that?"

    To that, she replied the above- that she is not a sex offender. So... does that mean a man in the same situation IS one?

    Men and women, in the public eye, seem to be very flexible now as far as gender goes. When it is conveneient, "Men and women are THE SAME! They are EQUAL!" But when it is not, then... there IS a difference. I think my position is pretty clear- make a rule, but stick to it.

    I believe men and women are inherently different. But, I also believe they are not so different that laws on this sort of thing should be this flexible. Of course, my opinion is that even male sex offenders might not be the sort who would do this repeatedly- it could be, like this woman said, a mistake: that caught early, and looked into properly, could be stopped. Should they be punished all their lives by being followed around like the main character in Les Miserables and denied jobs, feared in neighbourhoods? My brother, when he was in his early twenties, committed a sex offense- consentual, but still wrong- and now does prison ministry some twenty plus years later with a beautiful family and a strong moral code. He is someone that Jesus Christ changed and helped past some big mistakes. But now his children have found out- at ages rather young to have to find this out- because of Megan's law and classmates who delighted in telling them about "your Dad is a sex offender! I saw his name online!"

    Consistency- not prejudice

    Prejudice means to "prejudge". We come from a society that was- and in many ways still is, depending on the situation, prejudiced against many things including women. However, it is now very socially acceptable to openly show prejudice against men.

    What would happen if, in a public setting, a woman said "Man, guys are such pigs. They're dirty, messy, and sleep around." Probably nothing from my experience- maybe a laugh or "yeah, I know what you mean!" from a passer-by.

    Now, what if a man said "Women are so stuck up and brainless. They should stick to the kitchen where they belong."

    Wow. I can pretty much bet you'd get dirty looks and harsh comments if people around heard it- from women especially, but perhaps even from men as well! It is publically acceptable to prejudge men- and while prejudice against women still happens, it has to be a hidden and explainable thing.

    Female Sex Offenders- They exist, and they are harder to catch

    They exist and they are a lot more common than you think. Men and women are different, so the way a female sex offender- in this case, we will focus on child molesters- works is usually different than a man would. In particular, men tend to be a lot more hormone driven. There are always exceptions, but men do not think it through as much or as clearly usually as a woman would. Men tend to act quickly and rashly- women tend to act slowly, more thought out, and frequently have a great deal of patience in attaining their goal. Also, a female sex offender is more likely to take less risks- and less likely to have unconsentual sex, though if they do they also tend to do a better job at making sure it will not be exposed.

    The result? It's harder to catch.

    Why do I know this? I've spoken to one. Later, I reported her to the FBI and an online group that deals specifically with tracking down online sex offenders. I do not know if she was ever caught- but I did do the right thing.

    A Female Child Offender Profile

    This particular person had sex for the first time when she was twelve or under- with a boy, and it was not enjoyable. Later, however, a friend of her mother's babysat her- the female adult gradually began to pursue sexual 'play' with her, and she allowed it and later responded. It eventually lead to all manner of sexual activities. Later, as an adult, this woman began to babysit as well. Her first mollestation- though she would never call it that- happened with a fifteen or sixteen year old. The child flirted with her and made her intentions clear- and they eventually had an active sexual relationship. This happened again with a younger child, thirteen- she always would slowly 'flirt' and hint, and if there was a response, she would go farther. It was always "mutual"- and often a matter of her, the older woman, 'teaching' the younger girl and often initiating them into what is honestly homosexual/lesbian sex with a minor.

    Want to know something else? This woman is still close friends with the woman who initially mollested her- that woman currently is even aware of the fact she is mollesting others, and probably is a positive and trusted reference as a successful older woman. They do not see this as wrong- they would be horribly insulted if I had actually brought up the word "mollesting" or "child abuse". Why? Because it is connsentual- they see it as free choice, the law is wrong and they are just having another sexual relationship, so they are justified in avoiding the law. The teenager/child would never tell- because they don't want to tell. The woman doing it is friends with the parents and other parents, she has a good reputation, and she is smart enough not to make stupid mistakes that would let her get caught. Like, quite honestly, many men do.

    Also, of the girls she has "introduced" into sex with women (who were not necessarily lesbian or even sexually active first), all of them have either become bisexual or lesbian to her knowledge. None see themselves as having been "abused". The perfect crime? When the people who were wronged don't believe they were wronged.

    This sort of thing, as we have occasionally seen in the news, also happens with older women and boys. Sometimes, as is mostly shown- or at least portrayed- the boy is the one initiating it or pushing it. Often times, the boy more actively seeks it- but the adult will guide/allow it.

    A Blind Eye

    Why is this such a threat? Because we turn a blind eye to it. The enemy we turn our back to is more of a threat than the obvious danger to our front. Men are always under suspicion and a close eye. Yet as a child, my parents would find neighbourhood girls to babysit us- they didn't need a background or anything, they'd maybe see them every now and then and because they were female they would let them care for us. Two sisters, in a similar situation, took my sister up to her room and looked at playgirl magazines with her. That, if you are familiar with the law (Michael Jackson, for example) would be considered an illegal activity- to expose a minor to such material. What would someone say if it were two teenager brothers with a seven year old girl, instead of two teenage girls with a seven year old girl?

    The facts? All humans deal with wrong desires- and the capacity for evil is in everyone, male or female, in differing ways. I do not write this to inspire fear- but rather, to try to call for a fair playing field. As a boy growing up, I almost felt ashamed to be a man- because everything I heard told me how awful in general men were compared to women. I believe we need to take a stand- men and women both- to see we and others keep consistent in our views and application of our laws. When you see a discussion that shows prejudice against a woman OR man, perhaps you should say something. Remember, prejudice is pre-juding any person or group of people based on traits such as race, gender, age, looks, etc.

    As for me? I'm going to find another father in our church with free time someday to babysit my son- because I think I should practice what I preach.

    -Patrick

September 11, 2006

  • Conor's First

    First Words

    Conor says Dada

    Daa-daa!

    I could hardly call "Daa daa" a formal word, however since society and the general public consider it a word and a major landmark in a child's life I must say that he has said it. While "muh-muh" was a vague thing said when he was upset one time, Katrina has been working hard saying "daa-daa!" a great deal lately and he always seemed to find it very amusing. So last night, he said it for the very first time- more of a "laa-laa" than a D sound but it was clear that unlike with "muh-muh" he was actually trying to say a word.

    This morning, he said it for the very first time- with a D included! It is most probable that he does not know yet the exact meaning of his word (that Daa-daa = me) however that will come with time. It is fun to know that he is purposely starting to repeat back sounds and words to us now, and of those sounds Daa-daa happens to be the first.

    Today, while also over-repeatedly the 911 anniversity (I do not know why people do not play on the 911 thing more- they always call it nine eleven. I for one think nine one one works best), is also the day that Conor turns ten months old.

    Two months until Conor turns a year old!